• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
  • Welcome to iHelpForum - the place to get help from knowledgeable techs in all areas of Tech, Home and Auto help. Consider checking out our Guides or Registering an account to post on our forums today.

Isolate one pc on a network

Cameldung

I Like It Here
iHF Veteran
Advisor
WCG Team Member
Hello, I have a fairly extensive home (all wired) network of windows pcs, and heaps of other wired network devices. Seeking information on how to have 1 pc having internet access but isolated from everything else. Reason for the strange request is that I'm currently studying malware at Geek university, and I would love to practice by infecting a live pc. I dont consider a vm to be 100% safe so thats out.

Last thing needed is obviously any infection/worm spreading across the network. Is there a "safe" way to accomplish this. If a managed switch will provide this protection then im happy to buy one to replace or daisy chain from my current 16 port switch?

I have been told that routers back to back can also work, but others have told me it wont. I do have several spare routers. Have asked this in another forum which only succeeded in some experts debating each other.

Is this too hard, bearing in mind the nasty pc is to be CONNECTED to my existing network somehow, no usb sticks and stuff?

Thanks in advance

Last edited:

Crush

I am admin, ruler of my domain
Administrator
iHF Master Craftsman
I would disconnect the PC from the internet and use either a USB drive or a CD to transfer files. When I infect machines this is what I do

A switch inherently will interconnect the two networks. However, you could get another router and then use MAC address filtering to only allow connections to that network from the one machine

Cameldung

I Like It Here
iHF Veteran
Advisor
WCG Team Member